The industrial hemp pilot program for South Carolina became state law in 2016 through revisions to statutory code from 46-55-10 to 46-55-40. This law made it possible for consumers in the state to purchase CBD from companies so long as it is derived from the industrial hemp plant and contains a negligible amount of THC. If the THC content by dry weight exceeds this limit set by legislators, then it is not legal under this law.
The state is still attempting to reconcile their laws and enforcement mechanisms with federally-understood norms. This is not particularly surprising to those who have observed the legal progress of all fifty states following the passage of the federal Farm Bill in 2014. This law purportedly made it legal for consumers to possess and for companies to distribute hemp-derived CBD products in all fifty states. Like many states, South Carolina’s police forces have worked hard to ensure that THC contents of CBD products do not exceed legal limits set by their own laws or the federal Farm Bill.
Age Requirements For CBD In South Carolina
In South Carolina, two pieces of legislation make up the current legal framework for the regulation of all CBD products. First, 2014’s Senate Bill 1035, titled ‘Julian’s Law,’ made it legal for consumers to gain access to medical cannabis, including medical-grade high THC CBD products. This law comes with a few notable restrictions. For one thing, the law stipulates that only those citizens with debilitating conditions whose physicians have outlined the necessity of marijuana to their long-term treatment plan can access medical CBD. Additionally, the medical-grade CBD can only be obtained from licensed dispensaries in South Carolina.
For the most part, though, consumers have multiple options when it comes to accessing medical or adult use CBD within the state. This guide has been created as an introductory resource to outline some of the most important aspect of the legal situation in South Carolina’s CBD industry. However, it should not be construed as legal advice in any sense of the word. Readers should conduct their own research, as the author of this guide cannot guarantee that laws have not changed since the time of its writing.
The requirement for CBD used under the industrial hemp pilot program is a little more straight-forward. In most jurisdictions and stores, users must be over the age of eighteen to purchase CBD products. In select stores and some smoke shops, this age might be bumped up to twenty-one to make it consistent with other established rules in the shop, or to follow local norms or expectations.
Making your purchase online will allow you to easily verify the source of your oil and view the best information about the CBD products.
The state lawmakers are working on passing a bill known as The Compassionate Care Act. The law would create a medical marijuana system that would expand the current Julian’s Law.
Usually, your best option for finding high-quality, legal CBD in South Carolina is to place your order online.
Drugs Listed as Schedule 1 Have the Following Qualities:
Get caught with any amount less than an ounce for a first offense, and you could face up to six months in jail and a $200 fine. Any offense after your first is punishable by up to a year in prison and a $1000 fine.
Now, how can you get your hands on legal CBD in South Carolina?
If you want to get high-quality CBD every time, we always recommend buying online, where it’s easy to conduct a background check on the company and its products.
What does this mean?
This also means that cannabis-derived cannabidiol products are considered illegal in the state.
But for certain patients, low-tetrahydrocannabinol is allowed to treat terminal or chronic illnesses like epilepsy as long as it has a recommendation from a physician licensed by the state.
Cannabidiol is a substance that can be found in cannabis. CBD is now a trend in the medical industry because of its therapeutic benefits including relief from anxiety, reduction of some forms of pain, and prevention of seizures. Even if it doesn’t have any psychoactive effects and it has a lot of health benefits the status of Cannabidiol is a complicated one. It varies from place to place. With Cannabidiol establishing itself as an industry of its own and growing vastly in the health and wellness market, it is natural for residents to wonder where one could easily score this compound praised for having many health benefits.
Is CBD Oil Legal in South Carolina?
Hemp-derived CBD can now be sold at stores throughout the place. SC hasn’t specified limits on how much CBD you are allowed to buy, consume, or possess. Hence, hemp-derived CBD is somewhat unregulated in this state.
Yes, CBD is okay to buy and sell in SC but there is a specific limitation in the state that only if these products are derived from hemp plants. The state’s cannabidiol laws are a lot as with the federal law because it centers around whether CBD contains less than 0.3% THC and has been derived from hemp.
There is a distinction between marijuana and industrial hemp. In alignment with the federal law, it considered anything with more than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol to be illegal and anything with less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol to be hemp. Hence, everything that had been derived from industrial hemp is considered legal.
Like other states in the USA, Cannabidiol stores are popping in many towns and cities inSC. Is it illegal? If yes. What are the limitations? Where can you buy Cannabidiol in SC?