This article lists the best CBD oil stores in North Carolina, and we also clarify the state’s legal framework for cannabis.
Here’s what you need to know about differences in the legality of marijuana and hemp-derived CBD oil.
Where to Buy CBD Oil in North Carolina?
While North Carolina is far from being a paradise for cannabis enthusiasts, the CBD oil market is growing strong, with more shops popping up in the most important cities.
If you can answer “yes” to all these questions, then the company is a keeper. Otherwise, the red light should turn on in your head immediately.
As we speak, marijuana for recreational purposes remains illegal in North Carolina. However, even for a zero-tolerance state, North Carolina managed to show some human kindness in 2014 by passing House Bill 1220 – also known as the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act. The bill grants some children the right to use a hemp extract with THC levels under 0.9%, and CBD levels of at least 5%, for untreatable epilepsy to help control their illness and reduce symptoms.
Once all materials have been submitted, and the application has been processed, caregivers will receive a letter from the DHHS authorizing their approval. Caregivers must carry this letter with them when in possession of hemp extract within North Carolina. They must also carry or keep near the CBD extract a certificate of analysis for the extract that shows it meets the state’s standards.
The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is responsible for regulatory oversight of the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act program, and for enrolling registered patients and caregivers in the program. Patients must appoint a caregiver to obtain the extract. No registry card is required for patients. There is no minimum age for patients who can participate in the program, though caregivers must be at least 18 years old.
The DHHS forbids the cultivation of cannabis or the production of hemp oil extract for any reason within North Carolina.
A first offense of possession of 0.5 ounce of cannabis or less or 0.2 ounce of hash or less is a Class C misdemeanor , which is punishable by a maximum fine of $200. Larger amounts and subsequent offenses may carry more severe penalties.
In July 2015, HB 1220 was amended by HB 766 , which increased the allowed amount of THC from 0.3% to 0.9% and decreased the required CBD amount from 10% to 5%. It also expanded the number of qualified physicians, increased the number of certified hospitals, and removed the requirement that patients be children.
Marijuana is illegal in North Carolina so cultivation is also illegal. Farmers can grow hemp with less than 0.3% THC if they are licensed by the state Department of Agriculture.
Gov. Pat McCrory signed HB 1220 , the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act, into law in 2014. HB 1220 granted access to low-THC hemp extract to patients diagnosed with intractable epilepsy.
The most important thing is to buy CBD products from a reliable supplier who tests their products via 3 rd party labs. Regular testing is important to guarantee the THC and CBD contents in the product. It also can help detect potentially harmful additives that should not be there.
You can search for high-quality CBD products online from manufacturers from all over the country. Buying online will give you access to a wide variety of products brick-and-mortar retailers simply can’t offer. Buying online is quite different from buying from a local shop with a narrow selection process. Local shops mostly stock up on the popular products, rarely do they have something more specific. Also, online buying lets you take all the time you need to do background checks on the manufacturer.
Marijuana is illegal in NC for both medical and recreational purposes. In fact, the Federal Controlled Substances Act classifies marijuana as an illegal drug in NC. If they caught you even with a small amount of marijuana in the state, you would face a fine or jail term or both. If you possess less than 0.5 ounces of marijuana in North Carolina, you will face a fine of $200. Anything between 0.5 – 1.5 ounces could result in a fine of $1,000 and 1-45 days in jail. Possessing more than 1.5 ounces of marijuana is a felony in NC. The punishment includes a fine of $1,000 and jail time of 3 to 8 months. Growing marijuana is also a felony in the state.
What to Consider When Buying CBD Oil In North Carolina?
Purchasing and possessing CBD products made from industrial hemp is legal across the United States. But only as long as the product contains less than 0.3% THC. The Farm Bill of 2018 is the first piece of federal legislation that legalized the cultivation and processing of industrial hemp. It removed the substance from “The Controlled Substances Act”, reclassifying it as an agricultural commodity. The 2014 Farm Bill allowed research on industrial hemp under strict conditions. Meanwhile, the 2018 Bill legalized the possession and commercialization of CBD oil. In NC, hemp growers need to apply for a license from the state authorities to cultivate the plant.
The first marijuana-related legislation in NC passed in 2014. known as House Bill 1220 or the Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act. This bill permits the use of hemp extracts to treat various forms of drug-resistant epilepsy in children. The child needs an official diagnosis for drug-resistant epilepsy by a state-recognized neurosurgeon to be eligible for hemp use. The law allows the patient to use hemp or marijuana extracts with less than 0.9% THC and at least 5 percent CBD. Possessing more than 0.5 ounces of marijuana without legal authorization is a misdemeanor in NC.
There are many presentations CBD comes in; some are better than others to treat different medical conditions. The effects a person gets from CBD may differ depending on how they take it. For example, inhaling CBD might be better for one condition, while taking it orally might be better for another. CBD is available in oil, capsules, creams, salves, drinks, edibles, and inhalable presentations. You should do your research and opt for the best option depending on your condition.
Beware, the North Carolina CBD laws are currently some of the most confusing of this type in the country. To be clear, there are some regulations that appear to ease the restrictions on CBD products. However, there will always be another one that counters the former.